Aid follows flood declaration

President Barack Obama’s major disaster declaration for flooded northwestern Minnesota counties clears the way for further federal assistance.

The disaster declaration is for Clay, Polk, Traverse, Wilkin, Norman, Marshall and Kittson counties. The Federal Emergency Management Agency said that damage surveys continue in other areas and more counties could be designated for disaster aid.

The declaration came a day after Pawlenty said the Democrat-controlled Legislature has shortchanged flood-prevention projects in its public works spending bills.

Full story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>