Stimulus Spending Varies

Counties across Minnesota are getting different amounts of federal stimulus money, a Freedom Foundation of Minnesota report shows.

Payments range from a low of $21 per resident received in Scott County to $1,005 in Big Stone County.

Counties that received the most money were outside the Twin Cities area: Big Stone ($1,005), Chippewa ($913), Grant ($856), Wabasha ($842), Freeborn ($784), Traverse ($728), Marshall ($583), Nicollet ($552), Mille Lacs ($517) and Aitkin ($497). Counties getting the least money also mostly were away from the Twin Cities: Scott ($21), Anoka ($22), Houston ($24), Dakota ($28), Roseau ($30), Lac qui Parle ($33), Fillmore ($39), Martin ($43), Watonwan ($47) and Polk ($49).

Minnesota is to receive about $4.7 billion in stimulus funding.