Feds Declare Minnesota Ag Disaster

The U.S. Agriculture Department has made most western Minnesota counties eligible for assistance due to several natural disasters that affected farmers this year.

“The extreme weather in western Minnesota has caused severe damage to crops and taken a heavy toll on rural communities,” Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., said. “With these designations, farmers are eligible to access the permanent disaster program and emergency financing they need to get through this difficult period and continue their vital role in Minnesota’s economy.” 

Farmers may receive emergency loans and other assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

Counties eligible for assistance are Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Lac Qui Parle, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Traverse, Wright, Anoka, Benton, Brown, Carver, Cottonwood, Douglas, Hennepin, Kandiyohi, Le Sueur, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Morrison, Murray, Nicollet, Otter Tail, Pope, Scott, Sherburne, Swift, Todd, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

Another disaster declaration is in effect for Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin counties because of severe early spring weather.