Ingebrigtsen, Nelson Become Assistant Minority Leaders

The Minnesota Senate Republican leader picked Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen and Carla Nelson as assistant minority leaders.

Incoming Senate Minority Leader David Hann of Eden Prairie on Friday named Ingebrigtsen, R-Alexandria, to the post for the legislative session that begins at noon Jan. 8. Hann also named Nelson, R-Rochester.

Hann beat Ingebrigtsen in a GOP election for minority leader.

“Sen. Ingebrigtsen serves Minnesota with passion and balance,”
Hann said. “He will bring a thoughtful and wise common-sense perspective to our decision-making process.”

Ingebrigtsen has served in several leadership roles in his three terms. He has been Environment and Natural Resources Committee chairman.

“As we start a new session, there will be new leadership and
legislative plans,” Ingebrigtsen said, “but I plan to continue to
representing the core values of the people who sent me St. Paul and
protect their tax dollars as well as I can.”

Ingebrigtsen is a retired Douglas County sheriff.

Other Senate GOP leaders already were elected by the caucus: Dave Thompson of Lakeville, Warren Limmer of Maple Grove, Roger Chamberlain of Lino Lakes and Michelle Benson of Ham Lake.

Hann is expected to announce more members of his leadership team in the next few days.